How to Advocate + Contact Info

Make a difference in your community!

Advocate for Charles Barrett students!


Why do we advocate?

We advocate because this is OUR community, and our schools…

– educate our children;

– employ our neighbors;

– are funded by our tax dollars;

– influence our property values, and help attract property owners to our community.

How do we advocate?

– Become informed

– Ask questions

– Attend PTA Meetings

– Attend School Board meetings

– Answer the Call to Advocate

(From time to time, your CBPTA Executive Committee will ask you to  advocate on important action items; we will provide information about the issues and points of contact.)

How to Advocate for your Student

A child advocate is anyone who has ever spoken up on an issue regarding his or her child or school. You can make a difference for your student and for every student in the district by periodically speaking up—all it takes is five to ten minutes of your time. For up-to-date and timely information on issues concerning children, youth, and education visit the Virginia State PTA Advocacy web page (

Your Elected Representatives 

Charles Barrett Elementary School is represented by the 45th and 30th Legislative Districts and in the 8th U.S. Congressional District. Your elected officials are:

U.S. Congress and Senate

Senator Mark Warner (475 Russell Senate Office Building, 202.224.2023)

Senator Tim Kaine (388 Russell Senate Office Building, 202.224.4024)

Rep. Donald Beyer (431 Cannon House Office Building, 202.225.4376)

Virginia General Assembly

Virginia State Senator Adam Ebbin (District 30) – 571.384.8957

Virginia State Delegate Mark H. Levine (District 45) – 571.234.8481


Alexandria City Council

The Alexandria City Council is composed of a Mayor and six Council members who are elected at-large for three-year terms. To reach the Mayor and Members of City Council, call 703.746.4500 or visit 301 King Street, Room 1900, Alexandria, VA 22314, or send a group e-mail to the Mayor and Members of City Council.

  • Mayor William D. Euille

  • Vice Mayor Allison Silberberg

  • Councilman John T. Chapman

  • Councilman Timothy B. Lovain

  • Councilwoman Redella S. Pepper

  • Councilman Paul C. Smedberg

  • Councilman Justin Wilson

Alexandria City Public Schools (ACPS) – School Board

The Alexandria City School Board is a nine-member elected body that adopts policy for the daily operation of schools and sees that school laws are properly explained, enforced, and observed. The City is divided into three voting districts, and three Board members are elected from each district. Charles Barrett is represented by members in District B. Each member serves a three-year term.

School Board Meetings are normally held twice a month on Thursdays during the school year in the Board Room, 1340 Braddock Place, Alexandria. Board meetings are televised in Alexandria on Channel 71. For a list of meeting dates and other details visit the Alexandria City Public Schools web page (

All board members may be reached through the ACPS web page ( or by writing or calling:

Clerk of the School Board

1340 Braddock Place

Alexandria, Virginia 22314

703.619.8091 (fax)

703.619.8314 (phone)